Soundgarden to release classic album selection box set May 21st


Rogue Mag Music - Soundgarden to release classic album selection box set May 21st

Today, to honour the recent reunion of one of the world’s most influential rock bands and to celebrate their first European tour in fourteen years, Universal Music announce the release of an exclusive Soundgarden classic album box set, ‘Soundgarden – Classic Album Selection’ – released on May 21st.

The box set will contain the original A&M recordings of Soundgarden’s seminal albums, ‘Louder Than Love’ (1989), ‘Badmotorfinger’ (1991), ‘Superunknown’ (1994) and ‘Down on the Upside’ (1996) plus last year’s live record of the band’s 1996 West Coast tour, ‘Live on I-5’ (2011). The albums will be presented as a set of mini-LPs in gatefold wallets with booklets and exclusive new artwork designed by widely acclaimed designer and long-term Soundgarden collaborator Josh Graham.

Classic Album Selection box set
1. ‘Louder Than Love’
2. ‘Badmotorfinger’
3. ‘Superunknown’
4. ‘Down On The Upside’
5. ‘Live On I-5’

Rogue Mag Music - Soundgarden to release classic album selection box set May 21st

Sixteen years since the release of their last studio record, the legendary grunge pioneers are back with a new album in the works, an extensive European tour kicking off in May and huge UK shows at Download Festival on June 10th and a headline performance at Hard Rock Calling on July 13th. Full tour dates below.

The band have also just revealed their first newly written and recorded track in fifteen years, ‘Live to Rise’. The song will be featured in the end credits to this year’s highly anticipated movie, ‘Marvel’s The Avengers’ and will be included on ‘Avengers Assemble’, a 14-track compilation of music from and inspired by the film – released on April 23rd. You can listen to ‘Live to Rise’ HERE.

As one of the forefathers of the legendary Seattle alternative rock scene in the 90s, Soundgarden, along with their contemporaries Nirvana, Pearl Jam and Alice in Chains, pioneered a new musical movement which not only defined a generation but became a global phenomenon which has undoubtably left a lasting impact on wider popular culture.

Following the release of their debut EP ‘Screaming Life’ on Subpop in 1987, the band, Chris Cornell, Matt Cameron, Kim Thayil and Hiro Yamamoto (replaced by Ben Shepherd in 1990), have gone on to release five hugely acclaimed albums, win two Grammy Awards and sell over 21 million records worldwide. After a fourteen year hiatus the band reunited in 2010 to tour the US before announcing that a new album, their first in sixteen years, was in the works and destined for release in the Autumn of 2012.

Tour Dates

25 – Sonisphere Festival – Madrid
27 – Pinkpop Festival – Heerlen
28 – Werchter Boutique Festival – Werchter
29 – Le Zenith de Paris – Paris
31 – Zitadelle – Berlin

01 – Rock Am Ring – Nürburg
03 – Rock Im Park – Nuremberg
04 – Arena Concerti Fiera Milano – Milan
07 – Sweden Rock Festival – Sölvesborg
10 – Download Festival – Donington

13 – Hard Rock Calling – London


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here